Page 1 of 1

Configuration for loading speed of logicaldoc

Posted: Thu Jul 12, 2018 10:28 am
by xjeromeflores12
Hi,
Can anyone explain to me how to speed-up the loading speed , access the documents, searching etc. I'm currently using LogicalDoc Community 7.7.1 on our VMServer .

My main concern is there anything can improve the speed? I tried upgrading the server from 8GB RAM into 12GB RAM. Also update the JDK to latest,. But when I test it on the Apache JMeter (requesting for the localhost) it seems the Throughput (Loading Speed) was 33.0sec. Our Network connection was fine. 1.0GBps wired.

I tried also to increase the InitialHeapSize, PermSize ,MaxPermSize. But I couldn't make it increase.

I'm supposed to be the LocalSupport for our company, and I'll run some test , like I've said there's no improvements or changes in the performance of Community version. I must assure that the LogicalDoc Community can run the expected performance. Before we proceed to the Enterprise.

I hope anyone can help me with my concern.

Thank you in advance.

Re: Configuration for loading speed of logicaldoc

Posted: Mon Jul 16, 2018 4:27 pm
by agaspa
Hi xjeromeflores12,
the performance of LogicalDOC depends mainly on the speed of the database and the speed of access to the disk. Using the system with a database positioned on an SSD drive you can improve performance by about 8 times.
Also the main storage speed it's very important, in fact Logicaldoc perform frequent disk accesses (a lot of IO).
So moving the installation to the fastest disk will improve the performance.
To improve loading of LogicalDOC Community you can disable the Task Digest Processor.
However, I recommend running speed tests on a more recent version of LogicalDOC Community, for example 7.7.6 (last released)

I also think it may interest you to know that in the Enterprise and Business version you can manage in detail the aspects of the application, disabling features that are not necessary to maximize the performance (see attached image)
Runlevel-Aspects.png
Runlevel-Aspects.png (51.49 KiB) Viewed 915 times
Br.
Alex

Re: Configuration for loading speed of logicaldoc

Posted: Mon Jul 23, 2018 7:13 am
by xjeromeflores12
Thank You Sir Alex,

I'll do what you suggested.

Re: Configuration for loading speed of logicaldoc

Posted: Mon Jul 23, 2018 8:50 am
by xjeromeflores12
Hi agaspa,

Can I ask, we're On-premise . Do you think it is okay to use on our server? Or we should use Cloud?
We exceed the performance of the CE version before we proceed to EE version .
And I did what you've said regarding to the Run Level

Thanks again

Re: Configuration for loading speed of logicaldoc

Posted: Mon Jul 23, 2018 3:31 pm
by agaspa
Hi xjeromeflores12,

you should check for https wrong configuration.
It is necessary to check if in the tomcat configuration file everything is fine with regards to using the system in https.
Look for a file named server.xml in C:\LogicalDOC-Community\tomcat\conf
Check the values of the connector running on port 8443

A configuration like the one below actually runs on port 8443 (HTTPS) and encrypt all the traffic, but it requires a keystore file (keystore) in C:\LogicalDOC-Community\conf
and it requires a lot of CPU to encrypt each request response

<Connector protocol="org.apache.coyote.http11.Http11NioProtocol"
port="8443" maxThreads="200"
scheme="https" secure="true" SSLEnabled="true"
keystoreFile="${catalina.home}/../conf/keystore"
keystorePass="apassword" clientAuth="false" sslProtocol="TLS"
URIEncoding="UTF-8" server="Undisclosed/8.41" />

A different configuration like the one below is much faster (HTTPS is disabled)

<Connector protocol="org.apache.coyote.http11.Http11NioProtocol"
port="8443" maxThreads="200"
URIEncoding="UTF-8" server="Undisclosed/8.41" />

Br.
Alex